Striped Square Cake

This is a cherry chip cake covered with marshmallow fondant. This is the third time I have tried to make marshmallow fondant. The first two times were unsuccessful. Marshmallow fondant is very sticky and frustrating to make by hand. The first time I tried to make it I didn’t own my kitchen aid mixer, so I had to knead it by hand. Seeing that I have arthritis in my hands and my fingers, kneading the sticky marshmallow “gooe” was difficult and pretty much impossible. After this attempt I had pretty much given up on ever making marshmallow fondant. Last week my friend Summer asked me if I could use marshamallow fondant for her wedding cake, so I decided I would try again. The second time I tried to make marshmallow fondant I used my kitchen aid mixer and dough hook. I am not sure if I added too much water or not enough powder sugar, because the fondant was way too sticky to roll and too soft to mold. At this point, I was ready to give up, but I decided to try making one more batch of marshmallow fondant. The third try I must have done something right and ended up with marshmallow fondant that not only tasted great, but wasn’t too soft or sticky.

Leave a Reply

